Three crew members of the Soyuz MS-24 spacecraft transferred to the ISS

Three crew members of the Soyuz MS-24 spacecraft transferred to the ISS


09/16/2023 00:52

Deputy Head of the Gagarin Space Center and commander of the Roscosmos cosmonaut corps Oleg Kononenko together with the astronaut Nikolai Chub and NASA astronaut Laurel O’Hara successfully transferred from the Soyuz MS-24 spacecraft to the International Space Station (ISS). This event was broadcast by Roscosmos.

Upon arrival at the ISS, they were greeted by fellow cosmonauts Sergei Prokopyev, Dmitry Petelin, Konstantin Borisov, as well as NASA astronauts Frank Rubio and Jasmine Moghbeli, ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen and JAXA astronaut Satoshi Furukawa.

The Soyuz MS-24 spacecraft, launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome, successfully reached the ISS along a two-orbit rendezvous trajectory. O’Hare is expected to return to Earth in the spring of 2024 aboard the Soyuz MS-24 spacecraft, while Kononenko and Chub will remain on the ISS until September of that year. Long stay Kononenko may make him the first person to will spend more than a thousand days in space as part of the annual expedition.

The spacecraft also delivered to the station about 120 kg payloadincluding photographic and video equipment, on-board documentation, food rations, personal belongings of astronauts and equipment for scientific experiments.

During the expedition, within the framework of the Russian program, a total of 70 experiments and 4 spacewalks.

Author Angelina Efremova

Angelina Efremova – freelance correspondent for Pravda.Ru, student at Moscow State University named after M.V. Lomonosov

Post Comment