Somalia and unrecognized Somaliland agreed to cooperate

Somalia ceased to exist as a single state in 1991 with the fall of the dictatorial regime of Siad Barre. The international community recognizes the federal government as the only legitimate authority in the country, which controls the capital city of Mogadishu and a number of other areas. The remaining parts of Somalia are under the control of unrecognized state entities or are self-governing territories. In particular, the unrecognized Republic of Somaliland is located in the northern part of the country, and the Puntland region, which declared autonomy in 1998, is located in the eastern part of the country.

Post Comment